La Vie Villageoise, #1

I awoke with the sun this morning, opened the shutters on our bedroom windows, heard nothing but a faint scratch-scratching of a neighbor’s hoe in the soil of his garden, and reached for my camera.

These are the views.  They’re straight from the windows of a writer who’s not pretending to be a photographer, mind you, but who knows she can’t describe the scene as effectively as the scene can describe itself.

I’m in my knee-length cotton night shirt, by the way, so these first shots stay rather close to home.

You don’t need to get dressed yet, either.

View down the road. . .

Our ivy-covered wall and the neighbor’s facade that dates from the early 18th century

The local postal carrier delivers to the widow across the way

Into the garden. . .

Lavender, Rosemary, and these. . .

Tilt the camera up 15 centimeters, and this is the view of the Jura mountain range in France

Tilt the camera 30 centimeters straight down, and this is the sidewalk

And if you come back tomorrow — and the next day and the next and for weeks to come — I’ll take you on a long stroll on these sidewalks. I’d like you to get to know the village with me.

Advice:  Best to first change out of your pajamas.  At least I did.

That’s it.   I’ll bring the camera.

**

© Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com, 2012.  This work (text and images) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License. . . which means, as long you’re not selling it, you’re welcome to share, but please remember to give me a link and mention my name.

6 thoughts on “La Vie Villageoise, #1

    • Well. . .let’s see. . .Direct flight United Airlines from Washington D.C. to Geneva. Call me as you board on your end, and I’ll be here at the receiving end 🙂 OR call me when you arrive,and I’ll be at the airport in 20 minutes.

  1. Melissa!!! J’adore les photos!!! I can smell the flowers and feel the cool air. We would have been neighbours – a simple 8 minute drive (just like Singapore!). I am so very happy for your family. Say hello to le petit facteur for me….Miss you all.

    • Sarah, I’ve thought of you so often while stepping quietly into this new life. I know, what if we could have been neighbors here, too?! And could that still be possible one day? BTW, I think le p’tit facteur (Postman) is la p’tite factrice (Postwoman). . .but I was trying to be discreet, so I didn’t holler to ask right then.

    • Oh, Melissa, I think that’s going to happen. Walking was invented by the Swiss, I’ve been told, so this is a good place to learn the right way. I see serious walking equipment everywhere on the landscape, including in the little road right front of our home: Sticks (they look titanium), boots (hydraulic, I think), backpacks, compasses, canteens, the works. Shoot. . .and I thought all you had to do was take off the heels.

      It would sure be nice to share these walks with friends. . .hint.

Leave a Reply

