Comparing: Sorrow That The Eye Can’t See

Text and images © Melissa Dalton-Bradford 2013

Text and images © Melissa Dalton-Bradford 2013

Their holiday greeting cards? Picture perfect, every last one. Fifteen years ago, all in matching pastels romping in the surf at Cape Cod. Ten years ago, all four kids plus Mom and Dad swinging in the arms of their backyard maple tree. A couple of years after that, rumpled and ruddy-cheeked vogueness in a glittery snowscape with that year’s added essential; Bogart, the Labrador retriever.

IMG_1520

Because she is more sister than friend to me, I’d known for some time what kind of patchy reality lay beneath the airbrush of these annual images. In fact, I knew the moment when there wouldn’t be any more holiday cards. Well, not for a while, at least. In any event, never another one with Dad.

“Melissa, I’ve found. . .found out something. It is terrible. Something so terrible. . .”

Her voice on the phone dissolved into darkened tones that barely rose above a whisper. I had to hold one hand over my eyes to block out the sunshine that ricocheted off the blunt blows she narrated through restrained anguish.

She’d discovered a lie. The lie. Then more lies. Lies that revealed a separate apartment. A hidden bank account. His falsified business trips.  His serial affairs.

IMG_1508

I had to sit down. My legs were liquid.

“How long has–?”

Years, Melissa. I think this has been going on. . .I can’t. . . I’m having a hard. . .it’s hard just breathe–”

“And you’ve got proof–”

“It’s all right here. I’m holding it in my hands. Receipts. From his pocket when I was supposed to take his jacket to the cleaners. And I started tracing where he was making bank withdrawals. They weren’t where he said he was traveling. And then I found the messages left on the cell he forgot in the car when I dropped him at the airport. I had this haunting feeling and so I. . .there were those expenses he couldn’t explain. . .the erratic behavior. . and all his lavish gifts for me when he’d stay away an extra weekend. . .Penance payment, I see that now. Oh, Melissa, what am I –”

IMG_1517

Her voice, usually smooth and thick as fresh cream, erupted in one jagged sob. She sucked in the breath of someone going under for a long time. I had to lean back flat on the sofa to get enough breath myself; my lungs cramped so I folded over onto my side and cried along with her. We talked for two hours straight.

IMG_1511

What did they all mean, her twenty-something years of steady devotion?  Supporting him through grad studies? Having and raising babies while he climbed the ladder? Four preteens then teens then getting the eldest off to college? Where did I go wrong, she kept asking me, Did I misread his tension, she asked, Every marriage has its stretches of tension, I said, But all these recent inexplicable blow-ups, she told me, Did I do something? Put too much pressure on him, she’d asked, and No wonder he was at the gym every free hour, it seemed, getting fit. Lean. Buff. He told me I should be grateful he was keeping healthy. Not letting himself go. 

With eyes closed, I listened. Their manicured holiday cards pulsed and swirled on the screen of my mind.  And I remembered her phone voice from a year earlier, telling me he’s started getting mani-pedis, Melissa, body waxing, weekly massages. 

Oh, these men and their midlife crises, she’d said.

And I’d said, Uh. . . not the crises I know. What’s going on? You’d better find out.

Then she’d released the single, heavy pant of a work horse.

IMG_1544

“Honey, looks like I’ll have to stay over here another weekend,” he’d sighed when calling from New York. Or San Francisco. Or London. Or was it Bangkok this time? “This new CEO’s got me on this huge project and, well. . .You know.”

Somewhere along the way he’d developed a new laugh. It was a shrink-wrapped kind of cackle. She’d hardly recognized it as his, had hardly recognized who he seemed to be.

Yes, that was it.  He seemed to be someone. His presence, less frequent but more theatrical, made her uneasy. Why do you need all these new designer carry-ons? She’d asked that once. He’d nearly blinded her with his flippant, anger-propelled spittle, and that time he left before the weekend at home was even over. Sooner than planned. Sooner than promised.

IMG_1540

When she found him out, when she told him his betrayal was exposed, he was indignant. And then he was utterly infuriated that she would “humiliate” him like this. Then, as quickly as he’d spiked in a rage, he’d softened.  He’d cleared his throat, dredging up an apology. He’d asked,”Why can’t we just stay together? For the sake of propriety?” He would keep his “other side” quiet, he said. Not disturb the children with it. That way, there would be no public shame.  “We can keep things clean and tidy.”

IMG_1531

In any case, she shouldn’t tell her parents about this, he warned, his ears pinned back. And his parents? He strictly forbade her to speak a word. The tip of his index finger thudded with each syllable into the countertop as he made. his. point.

The day she told the children was the same day she filed.

And then she fled.

IMG_1550

Within a month and without raising her head or her voice, she’d sold the house and moved to a place far away. She would start over there, she hoped, start over after two decades living the only life she knew. She would start over wearing the safe sheath of anonymity. She could create a new identity in a network that she prayed would hold up the bundle of rubble that was now her life.  The rest of her life.

IMG_1555

Severed  by several hours on a plane from him didn’t remove her from the whole blistering distress that she now realized had dragged on for years. A desert of a marriage. Parched.  So arid it made her throat dry and her lips crack even though sometimes she was crying and sobbing lying on her side on the floor of her closet in this old basement rental. And now that the legal process was in full swing, that shrink-wrapped persona of his was showing signs of splitting at the seams. He warned her she’d not only mess up everyone’s lives, but she’d never make it in the world on her own. “Look at you,” she heard his voice sneering over the phone, “Do you have any skills?” He warned her that she was unmarketable.

Or had he said, “Unremarkable”?

IMG_1557

With verbal sleight-of-hand, he turned the children against her, planting suspicion and blame in their hearts. He softly undermined her, and then with spite and fear hissing through his incisors, told her she was acting ungrateful for all the years of service he’d poured into her.

And what about my gifts? He asked in a call where she finally had to give him her lawyer’s name because from now on all communication would go through that office. You’re sure not acting very grateful for all my gifts.  There was that pout again. He had mastered it and other methods of manipulation. Or so he thought. She was growing Teflon shoulder blades off of which these machinations were sliding.

She lowered herself into the sofa they’d bought together so many years ago. Times like this, she did question herself. Where did I go wrong? Were we ever in love? Wrong for each other from the very start? What does he mean? We had loved each other. This sofa. That time he held me in his arms, passion and loyalty igniting us like thirsty kindling.

IMG_1561

As the tale often seems to go, he’d conveniently and quickly all but drained their joint bank account. That, while her lawyers’ fees were accumulating, so finances forced her to give up on the basic requests for financial support.  And now he was claiming “emotional devastation” that rendered him unable to work, so naturally he couldn’t possibly pay alimony or child support or help with a mortgage. But he swooped by when he could, Dad did, dipping in and out of the family’s world like a pelican, scooping the surface with his big beak, dripping and losing things as he flapped away through the air.

IMG_1567IMG_1572IMG_1571

To fill in for his absence, he posted Facebook images with him smiling broadly at the theater or on a seaside junket with his new single friends.

“Recovering” was the subtitle he wrote.

Recovering is what she was still fighting toward when, in the middle of the night, she got the call about our son Parker’s accident.  And now my sister-friend was at my side, comforting me.

IMG_1521IMG_1522

**

This woman could be a composite of many of my divorced sisters and brothers.  Many of them, hearts widened from private excavation, have stood silent vigil during our family’s great sorrow, praying and figuratively stroking my back with their long, swan-like gestures. We hardly need words, these friends and I. The magnetic pull of pain links our hearts, locks our eyes. We each know something about death.

IMG_1586

As I’ve observed the residual, cumulative, compounding effects of so many marriage-death stories, I think of something I read from Gerald Sittser.

For context, Sittser lost his wife of 20 years, his young daughter and his mother all in a random lone-road accident for which the other driver, who was drunk, escaped prosecution. (To pour a ladle of acid on that sizzling pile of shock: in that same head-on accident, that driver also killed his own pregnant wife). We’ll agree, I think, that Sittser can speak with authority about cataclysms:

My own loss was sudden and traumatic, as if an atomic blast went off, leaving the landscape of my life a wasteland. Likewise, my suffering was immediate and intense, and I plunged into it as if I had fallen over a cliff. Still, the consequences of the tragedy were clear. It was obvious what had happened and what I was up against. I could therefore quickly plot a course of action for my family and me. Within a few days of the accident I sat down with family and friends to discusss how I was going to face my grief, manage my home, raise my children. …

IMG_1527

My divorced friends face an entirely different kind of loss. They have lost relationships they never had but wanted, or had but gradually lost. Though they may feel relieved by the divorce, they still wish things had been different. They look back on lost years, on bitter conflicts and betrayal, on the death of a marriage. Anger, guilt, and regret well up when they remember a disappointing past that they will never be able to forget or escape. My break was clean; theirs was messy. I have been able to continue following a direction in life I set twenty years ago; they have had to change their direction. Again the question surfaces: It is possible to determine whose loss is worse?
-Sittser, A Grace Disguised, 31-32

IMG_1582

**

This year our family, like yours, received lots of holiday cards. Many of them have images of picture perfect families. I love these people (and cherish their pictures).  I’m grateful for them all.

The images that hold my stare the longest are the ones whose current private stories I know best. It’s that intimate knowledge that allows me to see through a glossy likeness to reality.  In some pictures there are gaping holes or percolating anxieties. I see them.  There are also hidden triumphs – survival stories, stories of super human change – that even the best photographer can’t simulate.  These pictures remind me to focus there in my chest for the low rumble of “sorrow that the eye can’t see.”

IMG_1528IMG_1524

Now here’s a card.  Handsome children I’ve known most their lives, and their beautiful mother I’ve known from all the previous holiday cards, the sister-friend I’ve known through her great grief and through mine.  The father? Long gone, although featured, I assume, on another airbrushed holiday card that’s gone elsewhere in the world. In this card in my hand, the mother’s unfussed good looks are arresting, enough to stop the eye mid-scan.  Enough to stop a train.

There’s something more than cosmetic beauty there, however, can you see it? It’s so much more than gleaming teeth, her best profile or well-lit features. In her eyes shines something the eye untrained for depth won’t see.  Part softness and sorrow, part hope and courage, there is something my eye zeros in on that keeps me there and makes me swell toward her in closeness.

There is – I think I can describe it now – there is a density of wisdom, a laser look.   But it’s even more than that. There is an intensity of light, the sort many might ask for or even try to superimpose or edit into their image at whatever the price. But the real thing, the real light, few would ever willingly pay for.  It’s that sharp-sweet serenity gained on a level far below shiny surfaces, hidden well beneath the thick lid of images: it is down here, I know it, beneath the comfortable pace of daily breath and at a place so interior only great time and effort will attain it, right there at the invisible and excruciating scraped-off surface of the soul’s bone.

IMG_1519

Who am I to judge another

When I walk imperfectly?

In the quiet heart is hidden

Sorrow that the eye can’t see.

Who am I to judge another?

Lord, I would follow thee.
__
Susan Evans McCloud

27 thoughts on “Comparing: Sorrow That The Eye Can’t See

  1. Wait! So the woman on the Xmas card at the end of the story – is she the same woman whose husband had affairs?

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. This!

    “There is – I think I can describe it now – there is a density of wisdom, a laser look. But it’s even more than that. There is an intensity of light, the sort many might ask for or even try to superimpose or edit into their image at whatever the price. But the real thing, the real light, few would ever willingly pay for. It’s that sharp-sweet serenity gained on a level far below shiny surfaces, hidden well beneath the thick lid of images: it is down here, I know it, beneath the comfortable pace of daily breath and at a place so interior only great time and effort will attain it, right there at the invisible and excruciating scraped-off surface of the soul’s bone.”

    This is the look of light shining… I know this light. You captured it so very well, and it only comes from transformational messiness and despair. Well done.

    • Monica, thank you. And it’s a choice, isn’t it, to make that transformation. Because messiness can also turn into scar tissue over that heart that is ugly and constricting. I am lucky to be surrounded by people who have made choices that transform despair into blazing light. Inspiring. Thanks for coming by—M.

  3. Hauntingly beautiful, Melissa. “Sorrow that the eye can’t see.” That line always makes me tear up when that song is sung in sacrament meeting. It’s so true–whether the hurt is earth-shattering (like your friend’s) or insignificant. Thanks. xoMonique

  4. Melissa, funny that I just sent you our 2012 Christmas card avec photo yesterday, just in time for Valentines. No airbrushes there, just a photo of one very happy day we lived this year, boys with bad haircuts, we girls in ridiculous heels.

    I have often thought of what Sittler calls clean breaks and messy breaks. There has been much talk in this grief conversation about allowing the grieved one time, weeks, months and years, decades, to weep and work through the pain. And yet when the death is that of a marriage or a close relationship, maybe because it is so common, I think some of us are guilty of not giving time and a shoulder to these sisters, brothers, mothers, friends. Messy breaks are compounded by huge financial upheavals, humiliation, betrayal, children who can’t sort out where their parents are on the good guy-bad guy scale, children who love both parents but can’t reconcile what is happening, huge faith issues, and more. Often the tragedies repeat themselves in the next generation, because the scars run deep and sometimes grow over before they are healed.

    This morning I was reading in St. Matthew of Christ’s crucifixion, and felt again that He is the way we get through our clean and messy trials. His last cry of agony touched me today. Because in it I felt like I could hear humanity crying out, each person alone in his hour of distress. I am sure He would ask us to hear these cries as well and run to people’s aid.

    • Lori, I like your description that gets into some of the moldy corners of the issue. (Already before writing this next sentence, though, I feel unfit to enter in. Who am I to describe the slow rot or implosion?) You touch on humiliation, finances, betrayal, the confusion in the lives of the children, the “huge faith issues”. Each ugly in isolation, but in these cases they’re layered and they send their pain on and on.
      And I love your reference to the last cry of God on the cross, which, translated is the cry of all of humanity: “My God, My God, why hast thou forsaken me?” Like you said, that is a call to each of us to run in the name of God and goodness to people’s aid. Rich thoughts, Lori.—M.

    • Too many families. Too much love lost. I’ve watched up close how furious the struggle is to regain footing, trust, stability, self worth after such divisions. And I have to say, I haven’t been a strong enough support. Working on that.–M.

  5. Melissa, this is beautiful and heart wrenching and difficult to read. I absolutely believe the death of a spouse would be much much easier than betrayal. If Erik died, I would still have him in my heart, I would talk to my children about him, I would know I have not lost him. But still, let’s hope that doesn’t happen.

    I don’t want to compare my dad’s betrayal to one of a spouse. Because I didn’t have to rebuild my entire life after my dad abandoned me. But it is so hard to have a trial you can’t talk about and that people brush off as nothing. My mother’s death, early and tragic as it was, was a mere pinprick compared to the pain of my dad’s absolute and complete betrayal. He can get a new wife, I can’t get a new dad.

    But Christ is healing me, a little bit every day.

    • Michelle, You express several important things: that all deaths weigh differently, that all losses weigh differently, that the pain in general springs from specific loss, and those outside the loss often underestimate the pressure of that weight.

      And that there hope even if it must arise slowly and through additional pain.

      So glad you’re out there…M.

  6. Well done on tackling a grief and loss that so often is dismissed as “just something that happens” or some other casual event with no associated pains and devastations. It was that dismissal and resultant need for recognition that lead me to write one of the most painful (and therapeutic) pieces of my life (“Mourning”, over at the Segullah journal). Thank you, Melissa, for sharing and acknowledging this other grief of loss.

    • Sel (Aka Kel)- I recall your mourning piece with a sting to the sternum. It was printed on the page right after a poem of mine, and took my breath away. You were very much on my mind when I wrote this post. I want you to know that. I think of you and my friends in similar situations and truly mourn with you. What wretched, wretched devastation.—love oxox, M

  7. “Sorrow That The Eye Can’t See” reminded me of another hymn with words that resonate similarly and deeply–”Come Ye Disconsolate”.

    Disconsolate??? It’s not in my vocabulary, but I have since learned that this refers to the “inconsolables” in our congregations and lives. Yet, while there are some circumstances for which we may be able to do little to console, “Earth has no sorrow that heav’n cannot cure.”

    Write, write, write Melissa. It helps acquaint me better with a friend and family that I wish time and circumstances had been more generous. Continue to comfort those that stand in need of comfort with your healing words and experiences. You have international appeal! X

    Chris – Australia

    • Chris, my friend, I am sick at heart that we had too little time together in Singapore. So. . .here’s your assignment as my official Down Under pen pal.

      That hymn you mention has a great text:

      Come, ye disconsolate, where’er ye languish,
      Come to the mercy seat, fervently kneel.
      Here bring your wounded hearts, here tell your anguish;
      Earth has no sorrow that heav’n cannot heal.

      Joy of the desolate, light of the straying,
      Hope of the penitent, fadeless and pure!
      Here speaks the Comforter, tenderly saying,
      “Earth has no sorrow that heav’n cannot cure.”

      Here see the bread of life, see waters flowing
      Forth from the throne of God, pure from above.
      Come to the feast of love; come, ever knowing
      Earth has no sorrow but heav’n can remove.

      Like it very much. And your comment gives me courage and impetus to keep at this writing thing. If nothing else, I sure learn from my readers.–ox my friend afar—M.

    • Sharlee, the post I’m assembling right now and will get on the screen by the weekend is about still other griefs that all of us must know, either by association or by direct impact. How many of my friends have battled with histories of abuse, chronic and terminal illness, illness that is unspeakable, and mental and emotional illness? This will be a challenging one to write.

      Thank you, friend, for your kindness at every turn. Ad infin. . .M.

  8. This was a beautifully told story of the masks we wear in the outside world…very few know the real person behind that mask. Thank you for an eloquently written story.

    • Angela—Hi, and thank you for this comment. Masks, yes, we do wear them don’t we? Some are less pernicious than others, some are for simple self preservation and to gain other’s approval, some are to deceive and exploit and usurp others. And all the masks in between…The virtual world has created the possibility of creating ever more air-tight fake identities. It’s a real evil and probably encroaches onour lives more than we even realize. I’ve been stung a few times…–Thanks again for taking the time to come by.—M.

    • Angela, Although I’ve already responded to your above question, I’ve since been to your blog and feel my shutters, which I try to keep wide open, have been ripped right off their hinges. You’re assembling fantastic, meaty content, so many posts get my heart and mind running at full sprint. I’m on board with you. These issues are where I want my energies (and my family’s energies) to be channeled. Thank you –M.

      • Melissa, That was an awesome compliment, thank you.

        I sometimes feel we are all trying to say the same thing in different ways. Thank you again for stopping by and I look forward to reading more of your blog. -Angela

Leave a Reply

