Swiss Strolling

Let's take a walk. . .

All images © Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com, 2013

. . . through my village overlooking Lac Léman. . .

Let’s take a walk. . . through my village overlooking Lac Léman. . .

. . .past the cold and withered vineyards . . .

. . .past the cold and withered vineyards . . .

. . .behind Swiss strollers. . .

. . .behind Swiss strollers. . .

. . .into Nyon, minutes from my door . . .

. . .into Nyon, minutes from my door . . .

. . .too late for lunch. . .

. . .too late for lunch, too early for dinner. . .

. . .into the old town quarter. . .

. . .into the old town quarter. . .

. . .with skies the same color as stone. . .

. . .under skies the color of stone. . .

. . .chimneys, tile roofs, solar panels. . .

. . .chimneys, red tile roofs, solar panels. . .

. . .the African refugees running from local police. . .

. . .and African refugees running from local police. . .

. . .the loudest sound in the street is the click of my camera. . .

. . .the loudest sound right now is the click of my camera. . .

. . ."to sort is to show you value something": compulsory recycling bags. . .

. . .”to sort is to show you value something”: compulsory recycling bags. . .

. . .late afternoon, the steeple of the primary school. . .

. . .late afternoon, the steeple of the primary school. . .

. . .your common housetop ornament. . .

. . .your common housetop ornament. . .

. . .Nyon's trademark yellow street lamps. . .

. . .Nyon’s trademark yellow street lamps. . .

IMG_1838

IMG_1839

. . .her daily shopping. . .

. . .her daily shopping. . .

IMG_1843

. . .five bells toll from the church. . .

. . .five bells toll from the church. . .

. . .Nyon was once Noviodunum, a Roman outpost. . .

. . .Nyon was once Noviodunum, a Roman outpost. . .

. . .view over Lac Léman. . .

. . .view over Lac Léman. . .but no view to Mont Blanc today. . .

IMG_1852

. . .along the ancient ramparts. . .

. . .along the ancient ramparts. . .

. . .Château de Nyon. . .

. . .Château de Nyon. . .

. . .Château and the newest church in town with its belfry. . .

. . .the Château and the newest church in town with its triangular belfry. . .

. . .view upwards from the lake front. . .

. . .view upwards from the lake front. . .

. . .lake front. . .

. . .lake front. . .

. . .Lac Léman. . .

. . .Lac Léman. . .

. . .and the Swiss stroller. . .

. . .and whom should we meet, but the Swiss stroller. . .

. . .Goodnight, moon. . .

. . .Goodnight, moon. . .

17 thoughts on “Swiss Strolling

  1. Beautiful. Serene, except for the fellow dodging the police. I love the rooftops, the particular colors (like those lovely shutters near the church) and the character that lasts so long in a place like this. Old towns remain so at a cost but it’s one the locals are willing to pay. Thank you for this peaceful evening walk through Nyon. It’s a world away from the cold, soggy, too-familiar views of my little village and it’s like a breath of European air… with golden moonlight. Aaah.

    • Maren, Thank you. Yes, it was so strange to be walking in near-total silence, then to hear men’s voices barking and arguing to my left. I looked down a narrow passageway to some medieval stairs and saw two uniformed policemen – crisp royal blue and white, tight shirts, chiseled jaws – herding four men against a wall. The police were gruff and demeaning. Three more men were running away at top speed, toward me, in fact, at the top of the stairs, pulling their hoods over their heads, looking over their shoulders in fear. I already had my camera to my eye, so I click-click-clicked. Then the police began frisking one man in particular and I was (of course) too embarrassed to take pictures. The scene was humiliating, especially made that much more dissonant by this too-quiet, pastoral setting. I felt sorry for everyone. And my mind began writing a really good story at hyper speed.

      Later, while walking the ramparts, camera still slung around my neck, I saw three of those same men who’d fled earlier. As I walked toward them, I was shooting the trees when noticed they were packing up and walking (very quickly and nervously) away from me. They must have thought I was a journalist or an informant from the police myself.

      And that’s the real story – or at least a part of it – behind the serene Swiss pictures. Lesson learned.:-)

      Thanks so much for coming here!—M.

    • Hi Jack- Yes, you’re right, the simplicity is only in our memories. It’s frustrated with as many ills as any place, especially with the financial plummet pulling the whole EU into a tail spin. Even “neutral” Switzerland won’t escape the burn. The next few years will be definitive. “Opposition”, yep. —M.

  2. Dear Melissa, those photos make me sigh and feel as if I were on the stroll with you. But….I’m in Singapore staying at Lessers, and wishing you we’re also here! Love to you, Geri

  3. Melissa, how much do you think I loved seeing photos of HOME? Your images evoke so many beautiful memories for me. Thank you! There is something so comforting about Geneva how every time I go home, nothing much has changed. I would imagine someone from 1602 could come to visit us today and would agree with me. It’s 1st of March so in a few weeks those sweet little primroses should be poking out soon. In all the world, nothing quite like a Geneva spring! With your up and coming photography exhibits, I’m going to suggest you visit the rose gardens of the Parc des Eaux Vives – I believe June – but you’ll have to cross to the other RIVE.

    • Sarah, thanks for the suggestion, that wouldn’t have come to mind: Parc des Eaux Vives, June, other Rive. Noted! Yes, change is most certainly slow in these parts…But today I could see through the gray mist to France on other side of the lake, and that means the winter is slowly burning off. I see some good photo exhibits coming. Love, M.

  4. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Many thanks

    • Hi, Pete– This is WordPress custom theme: Sunspot. Funny you should comment on it this week, because recently I’ve been thinking of changing it fro something brighter, lighter, easier to read. A couple of readers have commented privately that the light text on blue gray background is sometimes tiring on the eyes. . .I want to make sure the legibility and attention to good photos find a good marriage. GOod luck with your blog!–M.

  5. This was just lovely. I used to live in Lausanne and God willing, will be passing through soon, but were that not to be, I could have used your wonderful blog post to help me describe details in my new book. Thank you, fellow writer.

    • Julia,

      So nice to find a new follower here. I’m glad you know this area, a hidden paradise. I was in Lausanne just yesterday, driving to Montreux, took the elevated road above the Autoroute and through the terraced vineyards back home to Prangins, and realized (again) how special this area is. When you do pass through again, drop a line! We’ll meet. . .–M.

Leave a Reply

