Not Your Father’s Cologne

Image: wikicommons

Image: wikicommons

Like blades puncturing a gray tarp, the spires of the Cologne (Köln) cathedral (Dom) shoot with sanguine self-assertion into an upperworld, an otherworld. Audacious, virile, epic – the Kölner Dom’s pitch is stratospheric, almost enough to make you veer off the road as you swing into town at night, as we did last Friday.

“Whoah. Can you see that?” Twelve-year-old Luc, reading in the back seat, dropped his book and pressed his face against the window. “Whoah. Whoah-ho. Okay, that’s cool.”

The medieval architects of Europe sought to create an on-your-tippy-toes, to-the-very-finger-tips skyscraping of celestial proportions. Their aim? To scratch heaven’s underbelly with stone. Or better, to replicate heaven with it.

Today, this church is a spiny anomaly in a landscape of squatty or swirly modernity. But centuries ago when it was built, the Dom was seen as a meeting place of spheres. God descending to men. Men ascending to God. Heaven as down-to-earth and earth as up-to-heaven. People all over the then-known world made their pilgrimages just to arrive at its doors, touch its walls, fall on their knees, and crawl up to its altar.

And now we were cruising through Friday night rush hour traffic to get our peek.

“So, imagine this one, guys: in World War II, this whole town was completely flattened. Two-hundred-something air raids. About 1,500 tons of explosives, of which 1,000 of those were incendiary. Remember Dresden?”

“Of course. Yeah, we remember Dresden,” Dalton said quietly.

Image: wodumedia

Image: wodumedia

“By the end of the war. . .let’s see.. .yes, by the end of the war less than 5% of the inhabitants were still here. Many had been killed; most had been evacuated from the ruins. I also read that virtually all of Köln’s 11,000 Jews had been deported to concentration camps or murdered on the spot. All six synagogues had been destroyed. Only one has since been rebuilt.”

Silence.

IMG_1943IMG_1942IMG_1944

We were within a few streets from the cathedral. We had to hang our heads out our windows to try to see the whole structure, it was that tall. Built over the span of six-hundred years by the hands of mostly nameless artisans, and without as much as a forklift or a power saw, the cathedral dominated the whole night sky.

IMG_1918

“What else, Mel?” Randall was navigating the inner city’s labyrinth of one-ways. Our GPS spoke to us in German, like a Lufthansa flight attendant murmuring politely from our glove box.

“Well, the urban planner responsible for rebuilding the city after 1945 called Köln ‘the world’s greatest heap of rubble.’ Except –” I opened my window to try to get a photo as we came around a corner, “except this cathedral.”

We parked, bumper to curbside, in front of a blackened Emerald City.

“Seriously?” Dalton asked, stepping out of the back and into light rain. We walked right to the front doors, my camera at the ready.

IMG_1922

door handles, main entrance

door handles, main entrance

IMG_1924

IMG_1921

“Yeah, I’d say seriously. She was hit I don’t know how many times by allied bombs – seventy-something, I think – and she never collapsed, if you can believe it.”

I shielded my lens from the rain.

IMG_1931

“And that’s gotta be thanks to her flying buttresses, right?” Luc cracked a smile and lifted his brows to Dalton.

(I’ve decided twelve-year-old boys, like some twenty-year-old boys I taught in college, just can’t get enough of flying buttresses.)

IMG_1928

“Dude, check out the flying buttresses,” Luc elbowed his brother, snorting and giggling, pointing to the cathedral’s exterior stone arches that support the weight of so much wall with windows.

IMG_1920

Lovely sons, these, who can correctly identify parts of a building’s anatomy.

IMG_1929

The following morning, knowing I had only a few hours before we would leave town, I made my way back through her doors. By my third hour there, hundreds of other visitors had joined me.

IMG_1961IMG_1956IMG_1957
IMG_1951img_2017-e1363118310755
IMG_1977
IMG_1966IMG_1974IMG_1952

In the next two posts, I’d first like to share with you what I saw and thought as I looked not only at this magnificent tribute to faith, but also at all the people there with me, looking, too. The post is called, “Beseiging God.”

IMG_2013IMG_2006IMG_1973

Then, I’ll explain the reason for our family’s trip to Germany in a post entitled, “Praying Like a Good Sport.”

Hope you’ll be there.

1000px-Cologne_-_Panoramic_Image_of_the_old_town_at_dusk

This work is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License. . . which means, as long you’re not selling it, you’re welcome to share, but please remember to give me a link and mention my name.

14 thoughts on “Not Your Father’s Cologne

  1. Simply stunning, Melissa! Your pictures are wonderful, and your words do them justice. I thought that opening line was great. And I love the image of you having to stick your head out of the window to see the Cathedral.

    • Hey, gabriela–You’re back! So glad for that. It’s easy to take good pictures when the object is a UNESCO World Heritage Site…don’t you think? 🙂 Thank you for being here. I’ve been a bit overextended this month with other writing, and haven’t been by to visit your blog. not for lack of interest. . .Warmth to you–M.

      • I think you have a point, but I do have trouble making my indoors photos look anything like as good as the ones I take outside. Might be something to do with my camera…As for time to visit – don’t worry. I don’t always have time to get to the blogs I love.

    • thank you! Stop by for more photos in the following post. Having studied Art History myself, and a being a lover of architecture, my eyes alwyas seems to zero in on the meaning inherent in our created spaces. Hope to see you here and at your blog, too. Nice to have you stop by.—M

  2. I was in Köln 20 years ago, briefly, while waiting for a train connection. I regret to say that I didn’t see the inside of the cathedral, but I did eat in that very McDonalds pictured above!

  3. What a magnificent structure Melissa. The architecture of its time is extraordinary. Being the son of an architect my interests bear resemblance to his own in that respect. Our own family vacations were very much connected to architecture. The columns, the stained glass, the figures and all that they bear in their grasp…truly astounding craft. Some day I would love to visit these monoliths in person, to feel the presence, to marvel with a degree of sadness the history behind the city’s ruin and the perils of its population. History certainly has its dark moments, then and now.

Leave a Reply

