Besieging God

© Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

© Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melissa Dalton-Bradford and melissadaltonbradford.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

In the scripture story I read aloud to my nine-year-olds in Sunday school class two weeks ago, a man had prayed all through the day and into the night, and into the next day. “Look right here,” I pointed to the page for the kids, “he even says he ‘wrestled’ in prayer. Sounds like it must have been pretty urgent, don’t you think? Sounds as if he really beseeched God.”

Beseeched?” Camille asked, wriggling between Annie and Claire. Nothing gets past these kids, even if sometimes their feet can’t reach the floor when they’re in the grownup chairs. Claire’s eyebrows sloped and pinched together; “What’s beseeched?” “Yeah, what’s that?” Annie asked, curling her lip.

I rattled off a few synonyms: supplicated, pled, importuned.

(More wriggling, sloped brows, curling lips.)

William, wise beyond his nine years, patted his hand on the table, calling everyone to order.

“Besieged,” William said. “What she said was he besieged God.”

That was last Sunday, and this Saturday morning I was still replaying that moment – that word – in my head. Besiege. William had hit on a brilliant thing. In fact, John Donne and Tertullian would have agreed:

Earnest prayer has the nature of importunity. . .We press, we importune God. . .Prayer has the nature of impudence and more. Prayer has the nature of violence; in the public prayers of the congregation, we besiege God, says Tertullian, and we take God prisoner, and bring God to our conditions, and God is glad to be straitened by us in that siege.

-John Donne, in The Complete English Poems of George Herbert, ed. J. Tobin. 347

IMG_2008

With that excerpt scrolling through my thoughts, I moved in and around the clusters of visitors in the Cologne cathedral – Cologne, which in World War II had been a Militärbereichshauptkommandoquartier, one of those confounding German compound words which means a central command station for military purposes.

Prayer as besieging. Cologne as a siege center. The Cologne cathedral as a symbol for besieging prayer.

IMG_2067

When I was a child like Annie, Camille, Claire and William, life was fresh and uncomplicated, my heart was unscathed, my mind all chirpy canary yellow with splashes of robin’s egg blue and the floating fluff of clouds. I realize now I was lucky, as are these four. At nine, I knew nothing of what far too many nine-year-olds in this world do; that life can be harsh, even hostile, often brutal. And in that innocent world it was sufficient to “say my prayers.”

I was taught to say my prayers as soon as I was taught to recite the alphabet. These weren’t rote prayers, but were the simple expressions of a little girl: “Hemly Fader, we sank dee fow dis day. . .”

IMG_2040

I was taught that prayers were heard, and that they were answered. I could trust that God was a loving Father, who would respond with blessings, even if sometimes those blessings might not necessarily come, as I began to learn in my teens, when, how, or in the form I might expect them. But He would hear. And He would respond. This is what God was there for. To keep things under control by answering my prayers.

I was taught to pray both in English and in German, since my parents, who weren’t German but loved things German, wanted us to speak that language. With my head bowed and arms folded reverently across my chest, I would say, “Lieber Vater im Himmel. . .”And our family, at the dinner table after the amen of the prayer over the food, would all hold hands and sort of tug up and down on each other’s hands, chanting, “Guten Appetit-teet-teet, let’s eat!”

God, went my logic, provided for our material needs, including every meal. And He was German.

IMG_2049

At the start of the day with my family next to our dining room table, we often knelt. And I knelt alone, mostly at my bedside at night. When there was an exceptional or acute concern – someone was in trouble, there was a war in a foreign country, a president was being impeached, a church leader was sick, the boy down the street was hit by a train in the night, or Mom was having life-threatening surgery – we circled, knelt, and prayed.

IMG_2014

It’s no exaggeration that I can’t imagine my life up until five and a half years ago void of prayer, which had always been a vital enough element of my intimate connection with my Father in Heaven. Prayer, I experienced as I matured, had consistently opened up channels of strength and understanding that were beyond my natural capacities. Prayer had guided me, had guided things to me, had helped me even have specific things: my husband, for instance, our four incredible children, employment, a place to live every time we moved, health, sanity, answers, wisdom,forgiveness, words for writing, lost keys, lost cameras, lost credit cards and even my lost youngest who’d toddled away in a public park in a seedy part of Paris.

You might call that personal revelation. I do, too.

IMG_1999

Prayer also softened things. The bite of stinging betrayal, self-doubt, loneliness, homesickness, disappointment, anger, rage, indignance.

And it sharpened things. It alerted me to physical and spiritual danger, made me a lot smarter than I actually am in those many moments of dire brain need, and helped me on many occasions discern truth from fraud.

Prayer recharged me. It generated some remarkable healings in other’s lives as well as in my own. My life was literally saved at 14, as a matter of fact, and while doctors and medication and treatment and family support were absolutely central, I believe prayer (and God) facilitated them being so.

IMG_1997

Prayer broke me down. It opened me up for inspection, corrected me, blowtorched some real crusty grime and grit from my moldings, blew the wool clean off of my own sight of myself.

And then prayer hid me. In prayer, I found I was understood, and experienced that I was already known to a caring God, who is (this should be no surprise given that he’s God) always an eternal step ahead of me. He knew my needs long before they even became my needs.

IMG_2000

Many years ago, lying flat on my stomach, face smushed to one side, I’d explained my feelings about prayer to a massage therapist, Vickie. She pummeled me regularly over my childbearing and child-on-the-hip-carrying years, trying to treat the debilitating lower back spasms that used to hit without warning and landed me many times on a stretcher, in a hospital, and always in bed and on mega muscle relaxants for a couple of weeks each time.

“Vickie, it’s like this,” I said. “I petition the Lord, and the response is immediate, almost, as if he’d been anticipating my question. The answers and blessings come so freely. All these wonderful, undeserved blessings. They’ve really built my faith.”

IMG_1984

Vickie, who could not have known that in a few weeks from that hour she was going to be diagnosed with advanced stage ovarian cancer, kept kneading my muscles. She sighed at my comment. Lately, she’d been feeling much more tired than usual.

“Yeah,” she said, planting her palms on either side of my lumbar vertebrae, sending heat. “I guess so, Melissa. But that’s not where it ends. I think it’s when you don’t get the FedEx online-shopping-cart answer to your prayers when you really find out what you know.” She lifted her hands to sweep her hair from her face. “It’s when you don’t get your wish list that you see God really, really clearly.”

Massage therapists. They’ve got some special thing.

Vickie’s words came back to me in full timbre when I heard of her diagnosis.

Was prayer going to whonk this one for Vickie, steamroll it? I prayed for major whonking. I trusted in prayer-as-steamroller. Last I heard, Vickie’s still in remission.

IMG_1951

Then Vickie’s words came back again in July of 2007. The summer of implosion. It was through implosion that I relearned prayer, much like I relearned breathing. In fact, prayer became my essential breath. It was also then I started seeing things, including God, much more clearly.

Saying my prayers wasn’t going to get me anywhere. Neither was mere beseeching.

This was the besieging season.

IMG_2038

“Kids,” I said last Sunday in our little church class, “I know what it’s like to be this man in the scriptures.” I reported this with studied dispassion, like a journalist. No need to frighten the kids. No need to share sacred emotion. “I know what it’s like to go somewhere and stay there praying all day, all night, all day again. Did you know, friends, you can pray without words? Mm-hum. You can even fall on your face and cry and, ta-da!, it’s a prayer! Or you can groan, pound your fists, and maybe even yell up into the sky. All prayer.”

Annie’s large blue eyes grew larger, bluer.

IMG_2025

“So. . . what was it?” Claire asked, “What made you pray like that?” She looked like someone from the New York Times perched in the front row of the press corps.

Camille popped up on her knees on her chair and shook her light brown hair around her shoulders, singing, “Didn’t you have a son who died?”

I looked at William, inches to my left, his soft smile unchanged. Exquisite. When I dream of Parker, strangely enough, I so often dream of him at age nine.

“I still have a son,” I corrected her, smiling, “And yes, he died.”

IMG_2026

Those words felt unnatural – spiky and metallic – in my mouth. I could still tongue and taste them nearly a week later while meandering through Cologne’s cathedral.

IMG_1947

Besieging God with prayer. I know the taste of that, too. Broken capillaries in my eyes. Bruises on my palms from pounding on the tiled kitchen floor at 3:00 a.m. Scuffling through Munich’s English Garden in a downpour, talking to the wretched leafless branches. Behind the steering wheel for hours and hours in a loop on the Autobahn. Head tucked into my sternum to avoid banal contact with the public, draining tears and whispers into my lap in the back pew at church.

And head thrown back, staring at the highest point I can focus on, way above the mountains, out there where hope lies. . .

. . .Trying to sing a hymn to myself, but finding sound log-jammed below my heart.

All through the night. The day, The night again. And weeks, months. These years.

IMG_2029

Besieging prayer isn’t about external drama. God can see through hypocritical audience-targeted theatrics. Let’s face it: those prayers have their mortal hearers. The prayer I’m talking about can happen entirely within the ribcage, even while sitting in a public space like, say, a cathedral.

IMG_2069

In that case, it might not bear a single toolmark of outward pathos. But the inward soundtrack could shatter glass.

This prayer wants to pierce and penetrate what might sometimes feel like an opaque canopy stretched over our earth and our minds, keeping us from the big – biggest – picture. That kind of prayer isn’t tidy and toothless, in fact it hardly has anything to do with “saying one’s prayers”, but is jagged-edged in its raw and dynamic vertical groping and yes, it’s not a one-off stab at “the prayer thing.”

If rendered in stone, that prayer would probably look something like the Cologne cathedral, and might take a long time to reach its point.

IMG_2022

This cathedral? A mere 600 years.

All those spires. Aspiring. Besieging for inspiration.

IMG_2058

From pastor and author Dennis Lennon, who describes in Turning The Diamond George Herbert’s sonnet, “Prayer”:

We pray because prayer works, and because it changes things. It changes the world and it is able to penetrate the hearts of men to change their ways. . .[It] even ‘changes’ God, in the sense that a captor ‘changes’ his prisoner. This hair-raising, staggeringly risky picture takes up the idea of the old military engineer’s construction for siege and assault, his ‘engine’ to batter the enemy’s defenses, tunnel under his trenches and blow open the gates of this fortress.

–Lennon, 44-45

You find intimations of this from John Donne, both soldier and poet:

Batter my heart, three-personed God; for you
As yet but knock, breathe, shine, and seek to mend;
That I may rise, and stand, o’erthrow me, and bend
Your force, to break, blow, burn and make me new.

– Divine Meditations, 14

In a verse like that from Donne, as Lennon writes, there’s no trace of “over-familiarity with the Lord” (like the guy who chuckles, saying, “Hey, when I get to those pearly gates, boy I’ll tell you am I ever going to give the Boss a piece of my mind!”) Instead, there’s a “healthy and realistic awareness of [our] frailty, of life hanging by a thread. . .It suggests a mountaineer pressed up against a rock-face, holding on, just, by the tips of his fingers.”

Or the tips of her fingers.

The man from the scripture story and my Sunday school class experience was not Jacob of the Old Testament. But he resembled him. Jacob, as you probably know, “wrestled” with an angel. His is the story I’ll end with here, because it resonates – it booms – throughout the whole cathedral of my soul.

IMG_2075

IMG_2047

IMG_2077

Jacob was in a desperate life-or-death situation, in “great fear and distress”, but was hanging on to a promise God had given him long ago, and was ready – in the middle of the night, all alone, with death breathing down his neck– to “wrestle” for that blessing. “So Jacob was left alone, and a man wrestled with him till daybreak.” (Genesis 32:24)

IMG_2082

Lennon describes this:

We know ‘the man’ was a theophany, God incognito, for next day Jacob named the place Peniel, meaning, ‘I saw God face to face’ and lived to tell his story. . .What passed through Jacob’s mind as he grappled with his opponent, crashing around on the bank of the river? At some point the realization dawned (or was it a lightning flash of revelation?) that he was fighting with a God-man, a man representing God: God-as-man. . . .At some point Jacob said to himself, “O my God! It’s God!! I don’t know what’s going on here but now that I have him I’ll show him, how desperately I need him for myself, my family, and my future people. If this is God, I’ll prove to him that I believe him with every scrap of energy within me. Everything I have known about God – those amazing stories, the traditions, the prayers, the history (all words, words, words) are now in my embrace and I will not let go until I have the blessing’–something along those lines? – 49,50

IMG_2079

Jacob, in the throes of besieging prayer, had a life-changing experience. How life-changing, you ask? Well, God changed his name to Israel, which means “he is ruled.”

From that point on and forever more, the man ruled by God walked with a limp.

Could God have chosen a more unambiguous way to indicate his pleasure at Jacob’s tenacious, tough-minded, audacious faith? The new name tells the world this man wrestled with God and over-came. The limps tells the world – look at the weakness of this man’s strength. – 51

When I finished taking all these photographs, I slung my bulky camera bag on one shoulder and made my way up the nave toward the massive cathedral doors. Before pushing out into the glittering drizzle, I hoisted the weight one last time, thrusting a hip out to one side for balance, which made me list. Or even limp.

upright rain image

20 thoughts on “Besieging God

    • My dear Clarke- So good to hear from you! We were only 24 hours in Germany, on a specific “mission” (I’ll tell you exactly what it was in the next post), and so we couldn’t come through Munich, although we wanted to. When we come to Munich, I’ll certainly let you know beforehand!

      Much love and much warmth–M.

  1. Those mosaic floors!! I can imagine my prayers like those little tiles, small and seemingly unimportant, placed one after the other, just a handful a day to create an unimaginable work of art. Now every time I offer something to my Father, I will see in my minds eye a large empty space before me and a beautiful pattern emerging behind me and one little tile in my hand. I’ll keep praying just so I can turn around at the end of my life and see something breathtaking!

    • Janina-Ha! While taking and posting those mosaic pictures you went through my mind. Somehow I was certain you would love those floors. And your image of placing small, individual tiles as an offering to your Father, and having the expanse of a pattern behind and beneath you when you look back on your life– that image is breathtaking. With love always–M.

  2. I’ve said those prayers you speak of, and your depiction of them resonates deeply with me. Thanks for putting words to feelings that are, for most of us, indescribable.

    =)

    • Danielle – I began writing that “I’m sorry that it’s the besieging season for you”, but from my own experience I can give some hope that one day it will be a blessing. In hindsight. Warmth and courage to you—M.

  3. Pingback: Praying Like a Good Sport | Melissa Writes of Passage

  4. it’s always besieging season, sumwear. it’s always 4:30.
    if i could “bang out” an essay like YOUR STANDARD, oh, every 3 months or so, i might be ever-so-slightly tempted to be pleased with myself. you promulgate these dostoyevskian mini-tomes several times a week? do you ever sleep?

    i’ve been influenced (a little) by Kahlil Gibran’s essay on prayer, or something like it … to, of course, the Mother/Source of all Creation. just a slight difference of outlook betwixt us, nuttin’ important nor signif, eh?

  5. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in
    your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.

    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
    Kudos

    • Shelly,
      I’m so glad you’ve commented on this. You are right, unfortunately. A number of other readers have privately notified me about this problem, and I’m so grateful for that. Thank you for the feedback! I know that different hand held devices show the original text in a different format, but it seems consistent that even those who are viewing on laptop screens are losing text. Dang. The new blog format is giving me a few minor cramps, which I’ll try to smooth out quickly. I also think the photos (which are fine here, but which were never intended for public posting, so they lack artistry) are too large and maybe distracting, as they interrupt the flow of reading, which annoys a few of you out there. What shows in my editing screen isn’t what prints some of the time. I’m learning quickly to write and post pics differently. Whether it’s a server problem or not, I can’t tell (I’m in Google Chrome), but I’ll fix it.

      So..I’ll get on that immediately and will go back in to clean up what is amiss already.

      What would I do without your responses? Thank you!—M

  6. Shelly, I’ve gone in to check more of the posts, and realize that, after changing my blog format in March after post 125, all of my former posts (including this one) were automatically reformatted. And this is not a good thing. It’s not a good thing, because the original formatting was intentionally organized so that text and images were selected and spaced, and now that is, well, pretty much history. I had no idea that all the former posts would randomly lose their intended organization when I changed to a new theme.

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. 🙂

    What’s most annoying for me is the long columunized text along the right hand side of pictures. Don’t you think it’s annoying to read? I’ll see if I can get a live WordPress representative to coach me on how to rectify this. If I can’t I actually might have to. . .well, have you ever had a makeover undone?

    Thanks for getting me onto this. I appreciate the input.—M

  7. You have such a marvelous way of communicating your thoughts Melissa. I regret how long it sometimes takes for me to get to your remarkable place of sharing here, though once I arrive it is a place I want to explore, to understand, to embrace.

    When I read your words, though we have not met, I see your face and seem to hear your words…through the serenity and calm of a soft-spoken gentle voice. In my early readings of your accounts of all you have lived through the past five years I felt a sense of intrusion, that perhaps I really didn’t belong here within your thoughts. With the experience and passage of each subsequent reading I have come to feel a greater sense of understanding, of acceptance as part of your audience. I mentioned previously that my parents lost their first two children to incurable disease, one just a week after birth however their second child lived six years. At that time research had little advancement in terms of mortality, of treating the fatal disease whereas now many with the same affliction live into their late thirties and early forties. Mom and dad surely made the best of each and every day for Lynn yet with each passing hour their thoughts and fears must have been agonizing. Only the very strong fully endure and survive that grief process.

    Sadly, for mom and dad there was always loss of family through illness or tragedy. When mom’s younger brother was killed in a horrendous car accident at the fault of an impaired young driver the entire family was never the same afterward. It was very rare that mom would speak at any length of Lynn and what they shared, even rarer that she brought out photographs of this little princess of a sister I lost when I was a mere two years of age. My recollection is minimal at best, perhaps only really manifested in my dreams. Mom embraced her faith and it surely helped her through Lynn’s illness and face a life without Lynn. Dad would periodically look back with a banal sense of loss expressed as well in few words.

    My experience with your words Melissa is perhaps an extension of what mom and dad experienced following their short time with Lynn. I am beginning to have a better sense of what they were unable to convey in so many words. I have two sons that I could not imagine losing. And for your words, Melissa, I am truly greatful.

Leave a Reply

