Heard Yet? Global Mom and Global Mom Are Splitting Up

With my new Facebook Page devoted exclusively to Global Mom: A Memoir, (release date: July 15th), I’m happy to be able to declare this website the space dedicated to things. . .

Global Mom: A Melissa.

Global Mom writes. . . of passage

Global Mom writes. . . of passage

Curious about the release of the book? Then go here, to Global Mom on Facebook, where this coming week I’m starting a vlog visit series with a string of other global moms. They have vastly contrasting stories, have lived in all corners of the planet, and have survived to tell you about it.

lunchin' bunch o' global moms

lunchin’ bunch o’ global moms

I’m also keeping you updated there on the ins and outs of recording the audio version of the book.  Go to that address to be updated on all other booky stuff. Love your visits and appreciate your comments!

Then come here (like. . . truly, literally here-here, no hyperlink needed) for conversations with me about, yes, writing and being a global mom, but beyond that, what touches me as a person in this writing/living/nomadding lifetsyle. . .and everything else.

And there’s a bit of “else.”

Events, ideas, struggles, disappointments, mini-triumphs, local travel and on-the-ground responsibilities – all aspects of my behind-the-book personal life. This is the gamut of writing I’ve not adequately shared with you while I’ve been posting excerpts of the book or otherwise introducing you to the crew (publisher, editors, PR people) teaming up for Global Mom’s release.

What is “everything else”? Things related to:

1) Integrating in French-speaking Switzerland (Want to see why Switzerland is so clean? I’ll show you live footage of the guts of its garbage disposal system.)

summer over Lac Léman

summer over Lac Léman

Canton de Vaud, countryside

Canton de Vaud, countryside

2) Negotiating yet another new school system (Who wants a seasoned insider’s peek at international schools? And do you want a quick-‘n’-dirty on the famed International Baccalaureate degree? What’s it like to educate your kids multilingually?)

German, French, Italian, English. But where's the Romansch?

German, French, Italian, English. But hold on – where’s the Romansch?

3) Raising teenaged boys on the global road (Make that a bumpy global road lately. . .I’ve been seriously wondering what in the world we were thinking signing up for this, and what we’ve done to our children.)

Luc takes up snowboarding

Luc takes up snowboarding

4) Having our daughter serve as a full-time missionary in Italy (From run-ins with the local Mafia in Sicily, to gypsies stoning her in Rome. Santa patata and honest to Pete.)

Sorella (Sister) Bradford (r.) with missionary companion at Trevi Fountain, Rome

Sorella (Sister) Bradford (r.) with missionary companion at Trevi Fountain, Rome

Sorella with friend

Sorella with friend

Modern Christianity in Italy

Modern Christianity in Italy

5) Continuing the lifelong adaptation that follows having buried our oldest son. (It just never ends, my friends. Never. But then, neither does life.)

Our four

Our precious, irreplaceable four

Those kinds of things.

It’s here I can share and process all that, and I am truly hoping you’ll help me through.

Then there are the other things:

6) Travels to farther destinations. (Didn’t I mention Paris? Watch very soon.)

heading through our old neighborhood

Our old neighborhood

7) Visitors from abroad. If you follow me on Twitter (MDBGlobalMom), you know I just had some favorite relatives here. And soon I’ll host a whole gang of favorite friends.  (One ultra-talented visitor will be here shooting the trailer for my book.)

8) My volunteer service overseeing a delightful group of the local leaders and adolescent girls of our church, all through the Geneva region and into parts of France. (Google-map it: from Chambéry, France, to Morges, Switzerland).

9) The signed contract to write a book with Randall on Strengthening Long Distance Marriages. (Coming in 2014)

10) And finally – and most sweetly – the signed contract to bring you my substantial book on Grief & Grace. (Watch for it: Memorial Day 2014)

See you here!

Or there?

Or everywhere.

7 thoughts on “Heard Yet? Global Mom and Global Mom Are Splitting Up

    • Birdhouse friend-

      I feel the distance traveled in my bones, I do. (And you should see the soles of my feet.) Without question, I’ll keep you in mind when I give more details about #10. It will launch a branch of connecting with the world parallel to, but distinct from Global Mom. Although I doubt I’ll call myself Grief Mom.

      Much love to you. And always with thanks, birdhouse–

      M.

  1. We moved multiple times when our daughter was in school. It was hard enough moving from state to state – I can’t imagine doing it country to country. I know kids are resilient, but I think if I had to do it again, I would have said no and just stayed put. Still, she turned out fine and my marriage did too.

    Nancy

    • Thank you for this comment!. The sticky thing is that on the professional international track, one gets to a point where one is defined as just that. One’s qualifications are squarely international, and this is where your expertise lies. You are no longer the expert on domestic issues, but on global ones, and switching job tracks becomes less and less plausible. Can’t “go home.” Today, I’m surrounded by folks who’ve moved multiple times internationally, and it is, as you imply, a major challenge. Country to country – language to language is so demanding. But…hmm..it is also what our world is moving toward, isn’t it? More fluidity between cultures, kids traveling earlier and more easily, that whole “global” mindset 🙂 There are rough patches, and maybe when all’s said, some of them make for strengthened family relationships and marriages. (It’s at least what I’m positing in my writing!)

      Nancy, you are always a calming voice to read on my page. I’m guessing you’re like that in person, too.—M

      • How interesting that you can’t come back to domestic issues – frustrating too. I would agree though that my daughter benefited from living around the country and being self-sufficient. For your children, having that international experience may lead to better job opportunities at some point.

        I’ve tried to be diligent in coming over here and leaving comments and am glad it helps you. My gift in the workplace is being the wise sage to those older and younger than me. I’ve made a big difference to people from balancing work & family to taking care of themselves to growing careers and understanding why things are important. I prayed years ago for God to give me a ministry, but it took a long time for me to realize this is what it was.

        So I think that’s the voice your hear coming through my notes to you – not the calm as much as the God given clarity of what to share from my life, feedback of what works (or doesn’t), and encouragement. I don’t leave notes frequently, but when I do, they’re usually really good. Or at least that’s how several of my blogging friends have explained it to me.

        Your hometown is fairly small. I worked with a guy who grew up there – I need to call him and see if he knows you guys. I bet he does. His story was always that he knew he wanted to go into accounting because he hated milking cows in the morning cold before sunrise. And yeah, he’s a graduate of BYU too.

        Nancy

  2. Thanks for keeping close to us while you are a world away. I can’t wait to start reading all your books. And about what you’ve done to your children 🙂 – my goodness, I envy your children! I wish I was as cool of a Mom as you are. Lots of love and admiration!

    • Ulyana-YOU are one with stories to tell, my friend. I wish I could interview you for your insights on hopping cultures, learning languages, teaching your children the same, and building a formidable family in psite of (or thanks to?) such a unstable lifestyle.

      And I am so far from “cool” I’m downright muggy.:-)

      Much love always–

      M.

      P.S. And I’m currently outlining the next post on what this lifestyle has cost our children. It makes me hurt.

Leave a Reply

