Refugees in Germany: Must-Read Latest Feature Article

We stand at the crux of history in the making. Under our feet, the ground is groaning, convulsing under the weight and roil of a crisis— or better yet, a quaking pileup of crises — unparalleled in recent history.

Young girl with elderly woman disembark from boat at Lesvos, Greece ©UNHCR/Hereward Holland

Young girl with elderly woman disembark from boat at Lesvos, Greece ©UNHCR/Hereward Holland

What is our moral responsibility? Should we aid the growing millions of our displaced and distressed brothers and sisters? If so, how? Who, as winter encases this saga in ice, should generate the needed human heat that could save the exiled? And how can we keep our and others’ hearts from freezing over with fear or suspicion, especially given the chaos, premeditated violence and sexual assaults of New Year’s Eve in Cologne, Germany?

Newly arrived refugees struggle to make it ashore in Greece © UNHCR/Achilleas Zavallis

Newly arrived refugees struggle to make it ashore in Greece © UNHCR/Achilleas Zavallis

==

This is the introduction I wrote for my latest feature hot off the press at Inspirelle. I beg you, friends, click on those last underlined words to read every word and to leave some of your own words here in my comment box, or in Inspirelle’s comment thread. Or, ideally, in both places.

These are historic times we inhabit. Get involved.

group-w-melissa

December 23rd with Kayra (front left in black), visiting refugees at camp in Frankfurt

4 thoughts on “Refugees in Germany: Must-Read Latest Feature Article

  1. I loved sadly reading your comments and seeing the pictures. Is the Lord helping us get the gospel to these people? Maybe, but however, we look at them, as our pioneer ancestors and visually maybe see the experiences that they went through. Hope that makes sense. Love to you. We are flying to NY tomorrow for a few days with daughter and son in law serving as Mission President there and then on to SLC on the 21 st. It has been a pleasure meeting and connecting with you. Love, Margaret Sent from my iPad

    • Margaret, I was wondering if the daughter and son-in-law you mentioned are President and Sister Smith serving as the Mission President for the New York North, New York mission. If so, that’s our mission president! I’ve met them and they are wonderful.

  2. Pingback: Refugees in Germany: Must-Read Latest Feature Article | Delightful

  3. My heart has been unbelievably heavy as I have watched this drama and tragedy unfold. Even more painful has been the reaction of my fellow Americans, and family and friends. They feel sorrow, but they are so deeply rooted in fear that they refuse to reach out to help. As I have publicly advocated opening American borders to accept a greater number of refugees, the push-back from people I believe should know better, should BE better, has shattered my heart.

    Following your instagram feed has soothed my heart. I’m so grateful for the work you are doing. You’ve given me a template to follow that I hope I get a chance to use.

    I was pondering this as I soothed my cranky toddler back to sleep this morning. I kept thinking about your family’s loss and your life as transient expats. It occurred to me that you are uniquely poised to open your heart and reach out to the refugees flooding your heart. You’ve suffered a deep, traumatic loss just as the refugees being ripped away from their homes, losing loved ones, and suffering through a horrific war. You’ve experienced, over and over again, the challenge of being rootless and finding your way in a new country, learning a new language, and trying to build a network of support and friendship.

    You’ve publicly mourned not having roots and connections to a community, but my experience has been that many of those who are deeply rooted and connected also lack understanding and compassion for what these Syrian refugees are experiencing. Sadly, those deeply rooted often also harbor deep distrust and fear of the other or the unknown. Because of your experiences moving so frequently, you have come to understand that there is no “other” . You know deep in your heart that cultural differences are transcended by love, understanding, and friendship.

    God bless you my friend as you continue to engage in this deep work of charity.

Leave a Reply

